

Sixth Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize of the European Crystallography Association and European Neutron Scattering Association (ECA-ENSA)

The European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) announce the call for nominations for the **Sixth Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize** in honour of the late Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut, and in memory of his scientific achievements and cornerstones in crystallography and in neutron scattering.

The prize is awarded to a young European scientist, with a career extending to 5 to 8 years after thesis defence, in recognition of notable experimental, theoretical or methodological contributions in the field of analysis of matter using crystallographic or neutron scattering methods. The amount of the prize is 2000 €

Nominations for the prize may be submitted by European scientists as individuals (self-nomination excluded) or on behalf of a group. Nominations should include the motivation for the award, a brief curriculum vitae of the nominee and a short list of major publications. Letters of support from authorities in the field are accepted. Nominations for the prize will be treated in confidence and although they will be acknowledged there will be no further communication. Nominations are to be addressed in electronic form to Michael STEINER (steiner@helmholtz-berlin.de) or Alessia BACCHI (vice.president@ecanews.org).

The nominations for the prize will be examined by a selection committee. ECA and ENSA will agree on the composition of a Selection Committee for the evaluation of the quality of the candidates and the recipient of the prize. Membership in the Selection Committee is obtained by invitation extended jointly by ECA and ENSA executives, with a delegate of each executive representing the associations. The Selection Committee is chaired by the representative of the association that organizes the prize ceremony for a specific year. The prize ceremony is organized at European conferences organized by ECA or ENSA. This year it will be awarded at the International Conference on Neutron Scattering 2013, ICNS2013, 8th July – 12th July 2013 in Edinburgh.

The call for nominations for the **Sixth Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize** is open until <u>20th April 2013</u>. More details for the procedure and guidelines for application are available on the web-sites of ECA (http://www.ecanews.org/) and ENSA (http://www.neutrons-ensa.eu).

The Chairman of ENSA

The Vice-President of ECA

Michael Steiner

Alessia Bacchi